Home

people for peace

November 23, 2010

What’s with today, today? I feel like everything is going slowly to hell, and everything is getting even more slowly awesomer and awesomer. I feel actual terror every time I consider certain parts of my body, and I feel nothing but great surging eagerness when I think about my actual person. I took a fencing lesson with Alain, and I did not totally suck, and I had a great time and now I lunge every day just for the fun of it; I also kind of wrecked my wrist, again, and the typing is not helping, probably, but sometimes you just have to have what you want at the expense of your tendons. I want health insurance. I am not even kidding.

I’m going snowboarding for Thanksgiving, and while I’m stoked to my ears about finally getting around to it, I’m extraordinarily nervous in certain slim, delicate bits of my skeleton.

My muscles crave yoga ALL THE TIME LET’S STRETCH NOW LET’S STRETCH and my joints ache after one gentle rendition of down dog up dog.

 

On the other hand, I’m just sitting here bitching about how my body is falling apart in slow motion, but at least I’m not a nun marrying Jesus Christ and having a wedding cake. I guess it was only a matter of time, I told my cat. But neither of us really believes that it had to happen.

 

So yeah, that’s life. I feel kind of like I’m just waiting for them to get around to my perfect cyborg body, and you think I am kidding but oh no, I am not kidding. I love my body but I would love it more with an automatic camera eye and springy titanium based limbs that allowed me to leap from tall buildings and just go off down the sidewalk. However, my brain seems to have more and more figured out, and I’m getting pretty more and more used to that. It’s like the old flipside lifestyle I’ve always heard about is totally true, and all cliches spring mostly unfettered from the bosom of truth, and your body sucks more but your mind rocks like none other the older you get. Or maybe the wind just howls through my bones and I’m happy with the fact that my life is once more dancing away under my feet, where it belongs, instead of up around my middle.

 

I realized today that it’s almost Christmas. So there’s that.

 

Also, for two siblings that I miss very much, who never fail to crack me up when I think of the things we’ve done together that really stand out, two songs; two songs that I have had stuck in my head for two days, inspired by my dreams and my damn friends:

 

It’s tearing at my heart when I’m with you,

but when we are apart I feel it too

and no matter where I go I feel the paaaaain,

with or without you

 

WHAT IF GOD WAS ONE OF US

JUST A SLOB LIKE ONE OF US

watermelon watermelon ON THE BUS

One Response to “people for peace”

  1. Holly Says:

    A) ha. i envision your blogs as your conversations with your cats and it makes me smile.
    B) seriously? n’sync? our childhoods were like eating pickles with chocolate cake. no one could have predicted the goulash that is our lives.

    Like


Oh yeah?

