Home

singing my, my, my, sitting at my desk with a gun in my hand

May 25, 2012

Instead of drinking whiskey to drown my impotent rage:

 

Hi Mr. F,

I have some questions about the quiz on chapter 11.

I got this wrong:

Question 25 0 / 1 point
A study of courtship among Boston college students found
that men were more likely to be “broken up with ” than to “break up with” their partners.
that men’s goals in the relationship were more romantic than women’s goals.
that men seemed to “love” more in the relationship.
Correct Answer
that men were more devastated when relationships ended.
Incorrect Response
all of these

but if you will look at our textbook, on page 377, all of these options are listed as true. I believe my answer was correct.

I also got this one wrong

Question 23 0 / 1 point
As a group, women have been found to be better than men at
expressing themselves nonverbally.
decoding facial cues of others.
decoding body cues of others.
Correct Answer
recognizing faces.
Incorrect Response
all of these

but based on multiple theories in the textbook the correct answer to this question is ‘all of the above.’

Also this question I got wrong

Research investigating the relationship between gender traits and psychological health suggest that it is most adaptive to
maintain the traits of your own gender.
maintain feminine traits.
Correct Answer
maintain masculine traits.
Incorrect Response
be androgenous.
be undifferentiated or gender-neutral.

but on page 362 the textbook, while talking about Jung’s theory of andgrogyny, clearly states that androgyny is the most adaptive and healthiest orientation. I do not think I should have got this wrong.

Also, I think this question may just be set up wrong in the quiz format

Question 6 0 / 1 point
When it is found that men are less emotional than women, one possible explanation might be that
men are genetically programmed to be less emotional.
differences in emotionality are just cultural myths that influence our perceptions of emotionality.
society teaches men to suppress their emotions.
Incorrect Response
the rules for how men and women show emotion are different.
Correct Answer
all of these

because men are not genetically programmed to be less emotional, and differences in emotionality are not just cultural myths that influence our perceptions of emotionality.

And finally,

Which of the following is an example of the social learning of gender-related norms?
Brian’s mom scolds him for being a sissy when he is picked on by others and doesn’t retaliate.
Tom’s father teaches him to work on the car.
Gene’s older brothers encourage him to join in their tackle-football games but tell their younger sister Julie that she can’t play.
Correct Answer
Grandma calls all the girls to the kitchen after Thanksgiving dinner, to wash the dishes
Incorrect Response
all of these

ALL OF THESE are examples of the social learning of gender related norms. So I am confused as to why I got this wrong.

Thank you very much for your time, and while I would very much like my score fixed, if you can explain to me why these answers are legitimately wrong I will be happy to accept that as well.

Best,

Tabitha

(excluded ps. YOU ARE DESTROYING MY FOUR POINT).

 

I am

2 Responses to “singing my, my, my, sitting at my desk with a gun in my hand”

  1. Jerry Says:

    lol I think we are in the same class…. Mr French?

    Like


Oh yeah?

