Home

opus aft agley

December 30, 2016

Somewhere approximately two years ago I decided to build a dollhouse. Despite never having built a dollhouse I was characteristically confident in my ability to turn one out all cute and shiny with a minimum of effort in a dazzlingly short amount of time. Of course I didn’t know when I started that the word dazzlingly belonged in the previous sentence, because as of yet I had no inkling of how god damned hard it is to build a dollhouse, and how many years it would actually take me.

The answer is two, I am being dramatic, it is the very lowest amount of years that can count as a plural, but you do get the idea. Originally I was like it’s August or something, I’ll build a dollhouse to donate this Christmas. And then the years went by.

For awhile there it was touch and go whether I would be finished with it in time for this Christmas, either. Through a finely blended mashup of neighborly assistance and sheer dumb luck, some of its paint still slightly tacky, it left on Christmas morning. Along with three dolls of the respective bed sizes and a pack of chalk, it went to a family who had just that weekend taken in two unexpected foster sisters, and hadn’t really had time to put anything much in the way of gifts for them together. It really worked out perfectly. I suspect some yuletide magic meddled.

And now at long last the house is done and gone. It has damaged me both body and soul on numerous occasions, and much of the time I cursed its existence. However it is also one of the coolest things I have ever done. It was my gateway to a whole new world of tools and skills. It is a monument to what happens when I don’t give up.

Chalkboard Haus*

house

img_3183

img_3148-1

img_3257

img_3150

vase

table

img_3158

kitchen

fridge

img_3252

img_3155

img_3270

img_3273

bath

bedroom

img_3259

bed

img_3263

home-sweet-home

christmas

………………….

little darling things I especially love

artwork

fireplace

dresser

dresser-back

small-bed

small-bedding

bunk

snug

bedroom-lite

kitchen-lite

I got the plans for it here

The kitchen and bathroom furniture were made by Toys by John

The bedding and house plants were made by Nitya Brorson

All the house artwork is by Jacek Yerka

*Haus is the name my sister wrote in sharpie across the front of her playhouse when she was little, because she didn’t know how to spell it and was sounding it out. Everyone was very impressed with her for writing in German, and I was always tickled by intersections in language phonics. For some reason I thought of that haus when I was creating this dollhouse, and it just stuck. Plus the darn thing is a chalkboard on the back. How cool is that?

2 Responses to “opus aft agley”


  1. Wow, Tabitha. When I was looking at the pics, it felt like looking at the inside of a real house. In fact I am still not sure if what I saw was miniature or life sized. 🙂 Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person


Oh yeah?

